Where do I start to become Air crew/Rescue crew?

Steveg

Where do I start to become Air crew/Rescue crew?

Postby Steveg » Tue Jun 4 2013, 02:27

Hi there everyone

This is my first post and i'm sure the question has been asked a myriad of times over the years but I couldn't seem to find answers that relate to me (and from my forum searches, masto as well.).

I am ex Military (non aviation) and have always loved helicopters. What i would really love is to get onboard as Air crew/Rescue crew, however, I have no experience in the civilian world of helicopters. My research has lead me to discover that it is quite hard to find a starting point or a way for those that have done limited training to get jobs. I have found courses that are offered for aviation crew (cert III in Aviation), but does that actually count for anything compared to the guys that are leaving the military with the quals and experience already behind them. I have read that CHC offered cadetships and that sounded fantastic! Are they the only ones offering such an awesome thing? I understand from reading various posts that it is also and industry where it helps to know people as well.

So after all this I guess the question i'm asking is; What is the best track to take in order to put yourself in the best employment position to become Rescue crew/Air crew within the Australian Helicopter Industry? from courses? ground experience? knowing particular people/companies? General costs? etc

Im trying to soak up as much info as i can and thats to everyone that helps out! :)

Can i also apologise in advance if this has already been outlined somewhere obvious and also if I have posted in the wrong spot. Cheers everyone!
KNOW NUFFEN
Gold Wings
Gold Wings

Re: Where do I start to become Air crew/Rescue crew?

Postby KNOW NUFFEN » Tue Jun 4 2013, 03:17